Wednesday, 23 June 2010

Charlaine Harris – Dead in the Family

This is book ten in the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series and I had been eagerly anticipating its arrival.
Sookie is still recovering from the Fae war and Eric is still under pressure from the new regime, a situation that is not helped by the arrival of his maker and “brother”.

I did enjoy reading this book, I read it in just two sittings, but I felt that it was a little lacklustre and uneventful. There was no main plot, just several small sub-plots linked together and not a great deal really happened. Perhaps that was even more noticeable because Dead and Gone (book 9) was so eventful so it was a case of going from one extreme to the other.

I always enjoy plot lines involving Eric and it was interesting to learn a little more about his history and his “family” and that plot line was the most eventful. I also liked the sub plot about Sookies nephew Hunter, it will be interesting to see how that develops.

The book was enjoyable and worth reading for people already into the series but certainly not one of the best of the series, still looking forward to the next instalment.

Thursday, 17 June 2010

Rachel Vincent – Shift

This is book five in the Faythe Sanders werecat series. It follows on about two weeks after the events of Prey. Faythe is still recovering and the pride is on the brink of war when they come under attack from a flock of Thunderbirds.

This book wasn’t as good as Prey (I’d have been surprised if it had been) but it was still very enjoyable. Again lots of fast paced action but overall it felt like it was really just setting everything up for the next book which I believe is going to be the last in the series. There are still unresolved issues carrying on from Prey and I’m really looking forward to finding out what happens. Just have to wait until October now!

Wednesday, 16 June 2010

Rachel Vincent – Prey

Prey is the fourth book in the Faythe Sanders werecat series. This book follows on approx. two months after the events of Pride. Marc has been exiled to the free territory and Manx is facing trial for murder. The pride are under increasing difficulties due to disorder within the territorial council and when Marc goes missing Faythe has to try to find him before its too late.

This book blew the others out of the water, it was the best so far by a long shot. It is packed with action, emotion and some unexpected occurrences. Faythe is really developing as a character, she has had to grow up a lot over the events of the series and this shows even more in Prey.

A lot happens in this book (one of which I really want to mention but it’s a big spoiler so I wont) but it doesn’t feel rushed or overrun with things going on. I couldn’t put it down!

Wednesday, 9 June 2010

Rachel Vincent – Pride

This is book Three in the Faythe Sanders, Werecat series. This book follows on shortly after the events of Rogue and focuses on Faythe’s trial and the events surrounding it. Faythe stands accused of infecting her ex-boyfriend from college and then killing him to cover it up. If found guilty of these crimes she could face the death penalty. The trial takes an unexpected turn of events when it becomes clear that there are some unruly strays in the surrounding forest along with some missing humans. Faythe must help get to the bottom of the mystery and prove her worth.

This book is my favourite so far in the series. I really enjoyed it and read it really quickly. It has the typical fast pace that I have come to expect from the books. Again this book builds to a final climax although this time it didn’t feel like the ending was rushed. Its fairly obvious that Faythe is not going to be executed seeing as there are three (one not yet released) more books about her to follow but that doesn’t detract from the story at all and indeed the outcome is bittersweet.

I’m very much looking forward to the next instalment.

Monday, 7 June 2010

Rachel Vincent – Rogue

This is the second book in the Faythe Sanders werecat series and follows on shortly after where Stray finished.
Faythe is now working as an enforcer for her father. When Toms (male werecats) have started to turn up dead on the prides territory they must find out who is behind the attacks and put a stop to it.

Again I really enjoyed this book, although not quite as much as Stray. It was nice to see further development of the characters and get to know them a little better. As before there was plenty going on and the pace was quite fast. The momentum built up to the big finish but to me the ending seemed a little rushed and I think it would have benefited from being a little longer.

That said it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

Tuesday, 1 June 2010

Rachel Vincent – Stray

This is the first in a series of books about werecat Faythe Sanders. Faythe has been away at college for the past five years. However, when other female werecats (tabbies) start to go missing Faythe’s father, the alpha of the pride, forces her to come home for her own protection. The pride must work out who is behind the kidnappings and put a stop to it before any more tabbies go missing.

At over 600 pages this book is quite long (although personally I like long books) but it certainly didn’t feel it. It was quick and easy to read. The action was fast paced and flowed well. I’ve read several reviews of this book where the reviewers have said they didn’t like Faythe, I can see why people would say that but I liked her. Faythe is far from perfect and she makes mistakes but I think that helps the character as it makes her more real. I don’t want to read about perfect individuals who can do no wrong so its nice to have a main character with flaws.

I have ordered the rest of the books and I am looking forward to seeing where the series goes.